MEA 2011 Annual Conference

The Economics of Inequality, Education and Copyrights

Hamline University
Sundin Music Hall
St. Paul, Minnesota
October 14, 2011

Program [PDF]

8:30 a.m.

Registration and Continental Breakfast

9:10 a.m.

Welcome and Introductory Comments

  • Jan Werner, University of Minnesota, MEA President

9:20 a.m.

Hurwicz Distinguished Lecture — Moral Hazard Credit Cycles

  • Roger Myerson,* Glen A. Lloyd Distinguished Service Professor of Economics, University of Chicago
10:30 a.m.


10:45 a.m.

Unequal We Stand: Economic Inequality in the United States


11:55 a.m.

Luncheon—Klas Center, Kay Fredericks Room, 3rd Floor

  • 12:30 p.m.    Presentation of Awards
  • 12:45 p.m.    Business Meeting
  • 1:00 p.m.      Luncheon Speaker
    • Joel Waldfogel, Frederick R. Kappel Chair in Applied Economics, Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota
      Slides [PDF]
2:10 p.m.

Recent Issues in Education ReformSundin Music Hall

Session Moderator: Judy Temple, University of Minnesota


3:20 p.m.

Closing Remarks and Adjournment

  • Fahima Aziz, Hamline University, incoming MEA President


*Shared the 2007 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics with Leonid Hurwicz