PREVIOUS SEMINARS AT THE MINNEAPOLIS FED

2010

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, February 2, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Hal Cole
University of Pennsylvania
Title: "The International Great Depression Money, Productivity, or Labor Market Policies?"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, February 3, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Veronica Guerrieri
University of Chicago Booth School of Business
Title: "Endogenous Gentrification and Housing Price Dynamics"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, February 4, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Noah Williams
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Title: "Persistent Private Information"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, February 11, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Jonathan Heathcote
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: "Redistributive Taxation in a Partial-Insurance Economy"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, February 12, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

David Rahman
University of Minnesota
Title: "But Who Will Monitor the Monitor?"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, February 26, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Guido Lorenzoni
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Title: "Decentralized Trading with Private Information"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, March 9, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Anamaria (Felicia) Ionescu
Colgate University
Title: "Insuring College Failure Risk, joint with Satyajit Chatterjee"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, March 11, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Motohiro Yogo
The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Title: "Portfolio Choice in Retirement: Health Risk and the Demand for Annuities, Housing, and Risky Assets"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, March 17, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Ariel Zetlin-Jones
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: "Reputation and Sudden Collapse in Secondary Loan Markets"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, March 24, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Jay Hong
University of Rochester
Title: "Labor Supply, Endogenous Wage Dynamics and Tax Policy"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, March 31, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Francisco Buera
UCLA
Title: "Self-Insurance vs. Self-Financing: A Welfare Analysis of the Persistence of Shocks"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, April 1, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Paul Klein
University of Western Ontario
Title: "Consumption Risk Sharing Under Private Information When Earnings are Persistent"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 6, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Cyril Monnet
Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia
Title: "The Emergence and Future of Central Counterparties"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, April 7, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Michelle Rendall
Institute for Empirical Research in Economics, University of Zurich
Title: "Rise of the Service Sector and Women's Market Work: Europe vs. U.S."

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 13, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Philipp Kircher
University of Pennsylvania and University of Oxford
Title: "The U-Shapes of Occupational Mobility"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, April 19, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Martin Lettau
University of California at Berkeley
Title: "Consumption and Wealth Dynamics"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Ricardo Nunes
Federal Reserve Board
Title: "Political Disagreement, Lack of Commitment and the Level of Debt"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, April 30, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Juan Carlos Conesa
Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona
Title: "Intergenerational Policy and the Measurement of Tax Incidence"

Applied Theory Workshop

Monday, May 10, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Markus Brunnermeier
Princeton University
Title: "A Macroeconomic Model with a Financial Sector"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Mark Aguiar
University of Rochester
Title: "Has Consumption Inequality Mirrored Income Inequality"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, May 19, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Erick Hurst
University of Chicago
Title: "The Non-Pecuniary Benefits of Small Business Ownership"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, May 27, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Guido Lorenzoni
MIT
Title: "Credit Crises, Precautionary Savings, and Liquidity Trap"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, June 4, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Jeremy Lise
University College London
Title: "Matching, Sorting and Wages"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, June 8, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Andres Rodriguez-Clare
Pennsylvania State University
Title: TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, June 11, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Randy Wright and Lucy Liu
University of Wisconsin and IMF
Title: "Banking: A Mechanism Design Approach"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, June 15, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Pete Klenow
Stanford University
Title: "Beyond GDP? Welfare Across Countries and Time"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, July 20, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Martin Oehmke
Columbia University
Title: "The Maturity Rat Race"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, July 22, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Juan Pablo Nicolini
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: "Policy at the Zero Bound"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, August 3, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Guillermo Ordonez
Yale University
Title: "Confidence Banking"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, August 10, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Ben Lester
University of Western Ontario
Title: "Trading Dynamics in Decentralized Markets with Adverse Selection"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, August 11, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Tarek Hassan
University of Chicago - Booth School of Business
Title: "The Social Cost of Near-Rational Investment: Why We Should Worry About Volatile Stock Markets"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, September 10, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Victor Rios-Rull
Federal Reserve Bank of Mpls & University of Minnesota
Title: "Demand Shocks as Productivity Shocks"

Applied Theory Workshop

Thursday, September 30, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Yuriy Gorodnichenko
University of California, Berkeley
Title: "What can Survey Forecasts Tell Us about the Informational Rigidities?" and "Information Rigidity and the Expectations Formation Process: A Simple Framework and New Facts"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 5, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Alessandra Voena
Stanford University
Title: "Yours, Mine and Ours: Do Divorce Laws Influence the Intertemporal Behavior of Married Couples?"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, October 6, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Kei-Mu Yi
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: "Structural Change in an Open Economy"

Applied Theory Workshop

Friday, October 15, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Lasse Heje Pedersen
Stern School of Business NYU
Title: "Two Monetary Tools: Interest Rates and Haircuts"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 19, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Cosmin Ilut
Duke University
Title: "Ambiguity Aversion: Implications for the Uncovered Interest Rate Parity Puzzle"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, October 22, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Xavier Mateos-Planas
Queen Mary University of London
Title: "Consumer Default with Complete Markets"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, October 25, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Machiko Narita
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota
Title: "Complex Mortgages, Income Processes, and Distribution of Homeownership"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 26, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Pedro Teles
Banco de Portugal
Title: "Short and Long Interest Rate Targets"

Applied Theory Workshop

Wednesday, October 27, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Robert Shimer
University of Chicago
Title: "Wage Rigidities and the Propagation of Shocks"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, October 28, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Benjamin Moll
Princeton University
Title: "Productivity Losses from Financial Frictions: Can Self-Financing Undo Capital Misallocation?"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, November 2, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Futoshi Narita
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota
Title: "Hidden Actions, Risk Taking, and Financial Crises"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, November 4, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Andrew Glover
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota
Title: "A Quantitative Theory of Darwinian Labor Dynamics"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, November 15, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Todd Keister
Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Title: "Bailouts and Financial Fragility"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, November 17, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Matteo Iacoviello
Board of Governors
Title: "Housing and Debt Over the Life Cycle and Over the Business Cycle"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, December 2, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Nancy Stokey
University of Chicago
Title: "Monetary Shocks in an Economy with Circulating Capital"

Applied Theory Workshop

Friday, December 3, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Philippe Martin
Sciences Pro
Title: "How do Different Exporters React to Exchange Rate Changes?"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, December 7, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Richard Braun
Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta
Title: "Real Balance Effects When the Nominal Interest Rate is Zero"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, December 9, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Eric Sims
Notre Dame University
Title: "Reallocation and the Changing Nature of Economic Fluctuations"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, December 13, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Konstantin Golyaev
University of Minnesota
Title: "The Impact of the Community Reinvestment Act on the Home Mortgage Lending Industry in California"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, December 14, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Jennifer La'O
University of Chicago
Title: "Dispersed Information over the Business Cycle: Optimal Fiscal and Monetary Policy"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, December 15, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Nicholas Bloom
Stanford University
Title: "Really Uncertain Business Cycles"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, December 16, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Yenan Hou
University of Minnesota
Title: "Export Diversification and Output Volatility"

Applied Theory Workshop

Friday, December 17, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Randy Wright
University of Wisconsin, Madison
Title: "Liquidity and Asset Market Dynamics"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, December 20, 2010 - 12:00 NOON

Ali Shourideh
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota
Title: "Optimal Taxation of Capital Income: A Mirrleesian Approach to Capital Accumulation"

 

 
Latest

The Region: Interview with Michael Woodford