PREVIOUS SEMINARS AT THE MINNEAPOLIS FED

2011

Applied Theory Workshop

Monday, January 3, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Robert E. Hall
Stanford University
Title: "The Long Slump"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, January 10, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Zheng Song
Fudan University and Chinese University of Hong Kong
Title: "Financial Frictions on Capital Allocation: A Transmission Mechanism of TFP Fluctuations"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, January 11, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Matthias Kredler
Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
Title: "Altruistically-Motivated Transfers Under Uncertainty"

Applied Theory Workshop

Friday, February 4, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Viral Acharya
NYU, Stern School of Business
Title: "A Pyrrhic Victory? Bank Bailouts and Sovereign Credit Risk"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, February 28, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Emi Nakamura and Jon Steinsson
Columbia University
Title: "Fiscal Stimulus in a Monetary Union: Evidence from U.S. Regions"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, March 1, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Ralph Koijen
University of Chicago, Booth School of Business
Title: "On the Timing and Pricing of Dividends"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, March 3, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Chryssi Giannitsarou
University of Cambridge
Title: "Social Structure and Human Capital Dynamics"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, March 4, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Chao Gu and Randall Wright
University of Missouri and University of Wisconsin, Madison
Title: "Endogenous Credit Cycles"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, March 7, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Gauti Eggertsson
Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Title: "Debt, Deleveraging, and the Liquidity Trap: A Fisher-Minsky-Koo Approach"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, March 8, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Yongseok Shin
Washington University in St. Louis
Title: "Lifetime Labor Supply and Human Capital Investment"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, March 14, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Saki Bigio
New York University
Title: "Endogenous Liquidity and the Business Cycle"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, March 16, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Francisco Buera
UCLA
Title: "Aggregate Implications of a Credit Crunch"

Applied Theory Workshop

Monday, April 4, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Antoine Martin
Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Title: "Repo Runs"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 5, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Cynthia Kinnan
Northwestern University
Title: "Distinguishing Barriers to Insurance in Thai Villages"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, April 7, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Sekyu Choi
Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona
Title: "Life-Cycle Consumption: Can Single Agent Models Get it Right?"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 19, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Yongsung Chang
University of Rochester
Title: "Labor-Market Heterogeneity, Aggregation, and the Lucas Critique"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, April 27, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Paul Klein
University of Southampton
Title: "Consumption Risk Sharing: Confronting Models with Data"

Applied Theory Workshop

Friday, April 29, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

David Autor
MIT
Title: "The China Syndrome: Local Labor Market Effects of Import Competition in the U.S."

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, May 2, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Mirko Wiederholt
Northwestern University
Title: "Exogenous Information, Endogenous Information and Optimal Monetary Policy"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, May 3, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Juan Rubio-Ramirez
Duke University
Title: "Volatility Shocks, Demand for Liquidity, and Asset Pricing"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, May 4, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Tobias Broer
Institute for International Economic Studies
Title: "The Wrong Shape of Insurance? Stationary Equilibrium Distributions with Limited Enforcement of Contracts"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, May 5, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Xavier Ragot
Banque de France
Title: "Default and Credit Constraints in General Equilibrium"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, May 9, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Marco Del Negro
Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Title: "The Great Escape? A Quantitative Evaluation of the Fed's Non-Standard Policies"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, May 10, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Adam Szeidl
University of California, Berkeley
Title: "A Model of Focusing in Economic Choice"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, May 13, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Justin Pierce
U.S. Census Bureau
Title: "The Surprisingly Swift Decline of U.S. Manufacturing Employment"

Applied Theory Workshop

Friday, May 20, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

John Campbell
Harvard University
Title: "A Model of Mortgage Default"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, June 2, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Jim Schmitz
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: "Do Monopolists Produce Efficiently? Evidence from the U.S. Cement Industry"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, June 6, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Jing Zhang
University of Michigan
Title: "Portfolio Rebalancing in General Equilibrium"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, June 7, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Karel Mertens
Cornell University
Title: "Fiscal Policy in an Expectations Driven Liquidity Trap"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, June 14, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Juan Pablo Nicolini
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: "Optimal Devaluations"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, June 15, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Dirk Krueger
University of Pennsylvania
Title: "How do Households Respond to Income Shocks"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, June 21, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Andy Atkeson
UCLA
Title: "Optimal Regulation in the Presence of Reputation Concerns"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, June 22, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Loukas Karabarbounis
University of Chicago, Booth School of Business
Title: "Labor Wedges and Open Economy Puzzles"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, June 29, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Patrick Kline
University of Califormia, Berkeley
Title: "Equilibrium Wage and Employment Dynamics in the Oil and Gas Field Services Industry"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, July 14, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Andy Atkeson
UCLA
Title: "Aggregate Implications on Innovation Policy"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, July 19, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Peter Ireland
Boston College
Title: "The Macroeconomic Effects of Interest of Reserves"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, August 1, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Ellen McGrattan
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: "Capital Taxation During the U.S. Great Depression"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, August 4, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Tim Kehoe
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota
Title: "Gambling for Redemption and Self-Fulfilling Debt Crises"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, August 23, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Enrique Mendoza
University of Maryland
Title: "Overborrowing, Financial Crises and Macro-prudential Policy"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, August 24, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Josep Pijoan-Mas
CEMFI
Title: "Inequality, Hours and Labor Market Participation"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, August 30, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Raphael Bergoeing
Universidad de Chile
Title: "The Complementary Impact of Micro Distortions"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, September 6, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Alexander Bick
University of Frankfurt
Title: "Taxation and Labor Supply of Married Females: A Cross-Country Analysis"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, September 12, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Anastasios (Tasso) Adamopoulos
York University
Title: "The Size Distribution of Firms and International Productivity Differences"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, September 13, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Pablo Kurlat
Stanford University
Title: "Deregulating Markets for Financial Information"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, September 14, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Pete Klenow
Stanford University
Title: "The Allocation of Talent and Economic Growth"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, September 15, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Ivan Werning
MIT
Title: "Managing a Liquidity Trap: Monetary and Fiscal Policy"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, September 19, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Kurt Mitman
University of Pennsylvania
Title: "Macroeconomic Effects of Bankruptcy and Foreclosure Policies"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, September 21, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Florian Scheuer
Stanford University
Title: "Optimal Taxation with Rent-Seeking"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, September 22, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Aysegul Sahin
Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Title: "Measuring Mismatch in the U.S. Labor Market"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, September 23, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Manuel Garcia-Santana
CEMFI
Title: "Size Distribution of Firms, Financial Frictions, and Foreign Ownership"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, September 26, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Wyatt Brooks
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota
Title: "Trade Liberalization with Endogenous Borrowing Constraints"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, September 28, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Randy Wright
University of Wisconsin Business School
Title: "Marriage, Markets & Money: A Coasian Theory of Household Formation"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 4, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Roc Armenter
Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia
Title: "The Macroeconomics of Firms' Savings"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, October 5, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Nir Jaimovich
Duke University
Title: "Technological Learning and Labor Market Dynamics"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, October 6, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Stavros Panageas
University of Chicago, Booth School of Business
Title: "Young, Old, Conservative, and Bold: The Implications of Heterogeneity and Finite Lives for Asset Pricing"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, October 12, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Jonathan Heathcote and Fabrizio Perri
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota
Title: "Wealth and Volatility"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, October 17, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Flavio Cunha
University of Pennsylvania
Title: "Knowledge and Investments in Skills"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 18, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Michael Kumhof
IMF
Title: "Inequality, Leverage and Crises"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, October 20, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Francesco Bianchi
Duke University
Title: "Monetary/Fiscal Policy Mix and Agents' Beliefs"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, October 24, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Loren Brandt
University of Toronto
Title: "Factor Market Distortions Accross Time, Space and Sectors in China"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 25, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Hanno Lustig
UCLA Anderson School of Management
Title: "Too-Systemic-To-Fail: What Option Markets Imply About Sector-wide Government Guarantees"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, October 26, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Hal Cole
University of Pennsylvania
Title: "Underwriting Ventures: Trust but Verify"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, October 27, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Satoshi Tanaka
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota
Title: "Men's Rush to Marriage: Implications of Child Support Enforcement for Marriage, Fertility and Long-Term Inequality"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, October 31, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Amanda Michaud
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota
Title: "A Quantitative Information Theory of Worker Flows and Wage Dispersion"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, November 1, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Christian Hellwig
The Toulouse School of Economics, University Toulouse 1 Capitole
Title: "A Theory of Asset Prices based on Heterogeneous Information"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, November 2, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Nobuhiro Kiyotaki
Princeton University
Title: "Financial Crises, Bank Risk Exposure and Government Financial Policy"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, November 3, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Sewon Hur
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota
Title: "The Lost Generation of the Great Recession"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, November 4, 2011 - 10:00 AM (NOTE TIME CHANGE)

Illenin Kondo
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota
Title: "Trade Reforms, Foreign Competition, and Labor Market Adjustments in the U.S."

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, November 10, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Jan Grobovsek
Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona
Title: "The Occupational Organization of Firms and Aggregate Productivity"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, November 14, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Guillermo Ordonez
Yale University
Title: "Collateral Crises"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, November 18, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Hui He
University of Hawaii
Title: "Why Do Americans Spend So Much More on Health Care Than Europeans?"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, November 21, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Massimilliano Pisani
Bank of Italy
Title: TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, November 22, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Nancy Stokey
University of Chicago
Title: TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, November 23, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Treb Allen
Yale University
Title: "Information Frictions in Trade"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, November 28, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Ezra Oberfield
Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Title: "Business Networks, Production Chains, and Productivity: A Theory of Input-Output Architecture"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, November 29, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Philip Bond
University of Minnesota
Title: "Wall Street Occupations: An Equilibrium Theory of Overpaid Jobs"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, December 1, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Nancy Stokey
University of Chicago
Title: "Policy Uncertainty and Delayed Investment"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, December 2, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Hengjie Ai
Duke University
Title: "Moral Hazard, Investment, and Firm Dynamics"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, December 5, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Ariel Zetlin-Jones
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota
Title: "External Financing and the Role of Financial Frictions over the Business Cycle: Measurement and Theory"

Applied Theory Workshop

Tuesday, December 6, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Fernando Alvarez
University of Chicago
Title: "Price Setting with Menu Cost for Multi-Product Firms"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, December 8, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Marios Karabarbounis
University of Rochester
Title: "Heterogeneity in Labor Supply Elasticity and Optimal Taxation"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, December 13, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Massimiliano Pisani
Bank of Italy
Title: "Fiscal Policy in Open Economy: Estimates for the Euro Area"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, December 14, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Marcelo Veracierto
Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Title: "The Role of Housing in Labor Reallocation"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, December 16, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Jacek Rothert
University of Texas at Austin
Title: "Productivity or Demand? Identifying Sources of Fluctuations in Small Open Economies"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, December 21, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Bo Zhao
University of Oslo
Title: "Too Poor to Retire? House Prices and Retirement"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, December 27, 2011 - 12:00 NOON

Oksana Leukhina
University of Washington
Title: "The Return to College: Selection Bias and Dropout Risk"