PREVIOUS SEMINARS AT THE MINNEAPOLIS FED

2012

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, January 11, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Taryn Dinkelman
Dartmouth College
Title: "The Long-Term Effects of Drought in Infancy when Migration is Limited: Evidence from South Africa"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, January 18, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Roozbeh Hosseini
Arizona State University
Title: "Efficiency and the Healthcare Social Safety Net"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, February 6, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Fernando Alvarez
University of Chicago
Title: "Persistent Liquidity Effects and Long Run Money Demand"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, February 27, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Javier Bianchi
University of Wisconsin & NYU
Title: "Efficient Bailouts?"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, March 1, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Pablo Fajgelbaum
University of California, Los Angeles
Title: "Labor Market Frictions, Firm Growth, and International Trade"

Applied Theory Workshop

Friday, March 2, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

James Hamilton
University of California, San Diego
Title: "The Effectiveness of Alternative Monetary Policy Tools in a Zero Lower Bound Environment"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, March 6, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Raj Chetty
Harvard University
Title: "Bounds on Elasticities with Optimization Frictions: A Synthesis of Micro and Macro Evidence on Labor Supply"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, March 7, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Francisco Buera
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: "On the Effects of Monetary Policy During a Credit Crunch"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, March 14, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Matthew Smith
Board of Governors
Title: "Doubts and Variability"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, March 26, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Andy Atkeson
UCLA
Title: "Assessing the Soundness of U.S. Financial Firms: 1962-2012"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 17, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Todd Schoellman
W. P. Carey School of Business, Arizona State University
Title: "Why is Measured Productivity so Low in Agriculture?""

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 24, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Nan Li
Ohio State University
Title: "Factor Proportions and International Business Cycles"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, April 25, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Ana Babus
Imperial College London
Title: "Endogenous Intermediation in Over-the-Counter Markets"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, May 1, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Peter Karadi
European Central Bank
Title: "Large Shocks in Menu Cost Models"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, May 2, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Eric Swanson
Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco
Title: "Risk Aversion and the Labor Margin in Dynamic Equilibrium Models"

Applied Theory Workshop

Thursday, May 3, 2012 - 3:00 PM (NOTE TIME CHANGE)

Mark Watson
Princeton University
Title: "Disentangling the Channels of the 2007 Recession"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, May 8, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Pierre Yared
Columbia University
Title: "Fiscal Rules and Discretion under Persistent Shocks"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, May 9, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Ricardo Lagos
New York University
Title: "Trade Dynamics in the Market for Federal Funds"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, May 10, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Stefano Giglio
University of Chicago-Booth School of Business
Title: "Credit Default Swap Spreads and Systemic Financial Risk"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, May 15, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Johannes Schmieder
Boston University
Title: "The Effect of Unemployment Insurance Extensions on Reemployment Wages"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Alisdair McKay
Boston University
Title: "Accounting for Idiosyncratic Wage Risk Over the Business Cycle"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, May 21, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Ernesto Pasten
Toulouse School of Economics and The Central Bank of Chile
Title: "Rational Inattention, Multi-Product Firms and the Neutrality of Money"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, May 23, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Sevin Yeltekin
Tepper School of Business, Carnegie Mellon University
Title: "Poverty and Self-Control"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, May 24, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Stefania Garetto
Boston University
Title: "Risk, Returns, and Multinational Production"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Nicola Pavoni
Bocconi University
Title: "Optimal Income Taxation with Asset Accumulation"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Doireann Fitzgerald
Stanford University
Title: "Exporters and Shocks"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, May 31, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Mathieu Taschereau-Dumouchel
Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania
Title: "The Union Threat"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, June 5, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Alexander Wolitzky
Stanford University
Title: "Communication and Money in Repeated Games on Networks"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, June 6, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Garance Genicot
Georgetown University
Title: "Suicide and Property Rights in India"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, June 7, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Leena Rudanko
Boston University
Title: "Unions in a Frictional Labor Market"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, June 11, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Pete Klenow
Stanford University
Title: "The Life Cycle of Plants in India and Mexico"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, June 12, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Ellen McGrattan
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: "The Labor Productivity Puzzle"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, June 13, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Ben Malin
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: "Testing for Keynesian Labor Demand"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, July 6, 2012 - 1:00 PM (NOTE TIME CHANGE)

Michael Kiley and Jean-Philippe Laforte
Board of Governors
Title: "Unemployment During the Great Recession in the EDO Model of the U.S. Economy: The 2012 EDO Model"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, July 9, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Neil Wallace
Pennsylvania State University
Title: "The Optimality of Inflation in 'Pure Currency' Economies: A Conjecture"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, July 11, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Neil Wallace
Pennsylvania State University
Title: "Optimality in a Large Two-Stage Market Game"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, July 20, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

George Alessandria
Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia
Title: "Trade Wedges, Inventories, and International Business Cycles"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, July 31, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Kei Kawai
Stern School of Business at New York University
Title: "Signaling in Online Credit Markets"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, August 1, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Mar Reguant
Stanford University
Title: "Market-based Emissions Regulation and the Evolution of Market Structure"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, August 2, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Marti Mestieri
Toulouse School of Economics
Title: "If Technology has Converged, Why has Income Diverged"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, August 13, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Karl Shell
Cornell University
Title: "Political Economy of Price-Level Volatility"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, August 22, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Joe Vavra
Booth School of Business at the University of Chicago
Title: "Consumption Dynamics During the Great Recession"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, August 31, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

David Rahman
University of Minnesota
Title: "Dynamic Information Management in Repeated Games with Frequent Actions"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, September 5, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Joachim Voth
Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Title: "How the West Invented Fertility Restriction"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, September 10, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Peter Koudijs
Stanford University
Title: "Those who Know Most: Insider Trading in 18th c. Amsterdam"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Pete Klenow
Stanford University
Title: "Misallocation and Productivity"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, September 24, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Henry Siu
University of British Columbia
Title: "The Trend is the Cycle: Job Polarization and Jobless Recoveries"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, September 25, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Cecilia Fieler
University of Pennsylvania
Title: "Trade, Competition and Quality-Upgrading: A Theory with Evidence from Colombia"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, September 26, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Pierre Yared
Columbia University
Title: "A Theory of Political and Economic Cycles"

Applied Theory Workshop

Wednesday, October 3, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Robert Townsend
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Title: "Spatial Competition Among Financial Service Providers"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, October 5, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Ufuk Akcigit
University of Pennsylvania
Title: "Innovation, Reallocation and Growth"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 9, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

John Dalton
Wake Forest University
Title: TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, October 22, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Francesco Trebbi
University of British Columbia
Title: "Inconsistent Regulators: Evidence From Banking"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 23, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Francesco Trebbi
University of British Columbia
Title: "How is Power Shared in Africa?"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, October 24, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Matilde Bombardini
University of British Columbia
Title: "How Robust is the Skill-Dispersion-Complementarity Hypothesis?"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 30, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Hitoshi Tsujiyama
University of Minnesota and Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, November 2, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Winfried Koeniger
Queen Mary University of London
Title: "Collateral Constraints and Self-Fulfilling Macroeconomic Fluctuations"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, November 6, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Alessandra Voena
University of Chicago
Title: "Prenuptial Agreements and Household Wellbeing: Evidence from Italy"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, November 7, 2012 - 10:30 AM (NOTE TIME CHANGE)

Randy Wright
University of Wisconsin, Madison
Title: "Housing and Liquidity"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, November 7, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Manuel Amador
Stanford University
Title: "Crisis and Commitment: In?ation Credibility and the Vulnerability to Sovereign Debt Crises"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, November 13, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Toshihiko Mukoyama
Board of Governors
Title: TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, November 14, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Guillermo Ordonez
University of Pennsylvania
Title: "Uncertainty as Commitment"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, November 28, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Laura Veldkamp
Stern School of Business, New York University
Title: TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, December 3, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Cristina Arellano
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: "Linkages in Sovereign Debt Markets"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, December 4, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Fabian Kindermann
Northwestern University
Title: "Optimal Taxation with Current and Future Cohorts"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, December 6, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Chris Tonetti
New York University
Title: "Equilibrium Technology Diffusion, Trade, and Growth"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, December 11, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Martin Schneider
Stanford University
Title: "Ambiguous Business Cycles"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, December 12, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Monika Piazzesi
Stanford University
Title: "Segmented Housing Search"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, December 17, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Melissa Tartari
Yale University
Title: "What Distributional Impacts Mean: Welfare Reform Experiments and Competing Margins of Labor Supply"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, December 18, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Ricardo Reis
Columbia University
Title: TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, December 19, 2012 - 12:00 NOON

Illenin Kondo
Board of Governors
Title: "A Theory of Rollover Risk, Sudden Stops, and Foreign Reserves"