PREVIOUS SEMINARS AT THE MINNEAPOLIS FED

2013

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, February 21, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Nathaniel Hendren
Harvard University
Title: "Private Information and Insurance Rejections"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, February 26, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Eric French
Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Title: "Medicaid Insurance in Old Age"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, March 7, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Vaidyanathan Venkateswaran
Penn State University
Title: "Pledgability and Liquidity: A New Monetarist Model of Financial and Macroeconomic Activity"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, March 11, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Larry Christiano
Northwestern University
Title: "Unemployment and Business Cycles"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Luminita Stevens
University of Maryland
Title: "Price Adjustment in a Model with Multiple-Price Policies"

Bag

Monday, March 25, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Juan Pablo Nicolini
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: "Monetary Policy and the Quantity Theory of Money"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, March 27, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Andy Atkeson
UCLA
Title: "The Market for OTC Derivatives"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, March 28, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Fernando Alvarez
University of Chicago
Title: "A Real Options Perspective on the Future of the Euro"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 2, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Stijn Van Nieuwerburgh
NYU Stern School of Business
Title: "Firm Volatility in Granular Networks"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 16, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Max Gillman
Cardiff Business School
Title: "Deriving the Taylor Principle when the Central Bank Supplies Money"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, April 22, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Chad Syverson
University of Chicago
Title: "Healthcare Exceptionalism? Productivity and Allocation in the U.S. Healthcare Sector"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 30, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Klaus Adam
Universitat Mannheim
Title: "Optimal Sovereign Default"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, May 6, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Jim Schmitz
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: "What Ever Happened to the Puerto Rican Sugar Manufacturing Industry?"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, May 7, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Fabian Lange
McGill University
Title: "Duration Dependence and Labor Market Conditions: Evidence from a Field Experiment"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, May 21, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Pablo D'Erasmo
University of Maryland, College Park
Title: "Capital Requirements in a Quantitative Model of Banking Industry Dynamics"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, May 22, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Saki Bigio
Columbia University
Title: "Model of Monetary Policy and Banking"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, May 28, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Erik Hurst
University of Chicago, Booth School of Business
Title: "Manufacturing Decline, Housing Booms, and Non-Employment"

Applied Theory Workshop

Monday, June 3, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Jonathan Levin
Stanford University
Title: "Sales Mechanisms in Online Markets: What Happened to Internet Auctions?"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, June 5, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Jim Schmitz
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: "A Cost of Monopoly: Misallocation of Resources from High to Low Productivity Producers: Evidence form the New-Deal U.S. Sugar Manufacturing Cartel"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, June 18, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Melissa Dell
Harvard University
Title: "Trafficking Networks and the Mexican Drug War"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, June 19, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Lee Ohanian
UCLA
Title: "Mortgage Foreclosure Delay and U.S. Unemployment"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, July 17, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Andy Atkeson
UCLA
Title: "On the Aggregate Implications of Innovation Policy (Take 2)"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, July 19, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Neil Wallace
Pennsylvania State University
Title: "An Alternative to New-Keynesian Models for the Study of Optimal (Monetary) Policy"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, July 29, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Xavier Gabaix
Stern School of Business, New York University
Title: "A Sparsity-Based Model of Bounded Rationality, with Application to Basic Consumer and Equilibrium Theory"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, August 6, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Julia Thomas
Ohio State University
Title: "Credit Shocks and Aggregate Fluctuations in an Economy with Production Heterogeneity"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, August 9, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Aubhik Khan
Ohio State University
Title: "Default Risk and Aggregate Fluctuations in an Economy with Production Heterogeneity"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, August 20, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

E. Glen Weyl
University of Chicago
Title: "Quadratic Vote Buying"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, August 27, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Jesus Fernandez-Villaverde
University of Pennsylvania
Title: "Fiscal Volatility Shocks and Economic Activity"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, September 5, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Mark Aguiar
Princeton University
Title: "Take the Short Route: How to Repay Sovereign Debt with Multiple Maturities"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, September 9, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Rodolfo Manuelli
Washington University in St. Louis
Title: "Immigration and Human Capital"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, September 10, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Pete Klenow
Stanford University
Title: "Entry Costs Rise with Development"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, September 11, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

George-Marios Angeletos
MIT and University of Zurich
Title: "Quantifying Sentiments"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, September 17, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Ilse Lindenlaub
European University Institute
Title: "Sorting Multidimensional Types"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, September 18, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

David Berger
Northwestern University
Title: "Volatility and Pass-Through"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, September 25, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Miklos Koren
Central European University
Title: "Lumpy Trade and the Welfare Effects of Administrative Barriers"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, October 3, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Francisco Buera (Joint with Juan Pablo Nicolini)
Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Title: "Liquidity Traps and Monetary Policy: Managing a Credit Crunch"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, October 9, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Matteo Maggiori
New York University, Stern School of Business
Title: "International Liquidity and Exchange Rate Dynamics"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 22, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Marco Bonomo
Insper Institute of Education and Research
Title: "An Estimated Price Setting Model with Partial Information and Costly Adjustments"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, October 28, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Harald Uhlig
University of Chicago
Title: "Sovereign Default Risk and Banks in a Monetary Union"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 29, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Hengjie Ai
Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota
Title: "A Mechanism Design Model of Firm Dynamics: The Case of Limited Commitment"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, November 7, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Bernabe Lopez-Martin
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota
Title: "From Firm Productivity Dynamics to Aggregate Efficiency"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, November 12, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Rudolfs Bems
IMF
Title: "Income-Induced Expenditure Switching"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, November 13, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Ana Babus
Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Title: "Trading and Information Diffusion in OTC Markets"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, November 14, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Illenin Kondo
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
Title: "Inflation, Debt, and Default"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, November 15, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Gabriel Carroll
Stanford University
Title: "Robust Incentive Contracting"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, November 18, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Alberto Martin
Centre de Recerca en Economia Internacional
Title: "Managing Financial Bubbles"

Applied Theory Workshop

Friday, November 22, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

John Cochrane
University of Chicago, Booth School of Business
Title: "The New-Keynesian Liquidity Trap"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, November 25, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Sebastian Sotelo Rebagliati
University of Chicago
Title: "Trade Frictions and Agricultural Productivity"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, November 26, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Vanessa Alviarez
University of Michigan
Title: "Multinational Production and Comparative Advantage"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, December 2, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Jorge Lorca
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota
Title: "Political Budget Cycles, Information and Development"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, December 9, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Kevin Williams
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota
Title: "Dynamic Airline Pricing and Seat Availability"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, December 12, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Luigi Bocola
University of Pennsylvania
Title: "The Pass-Through of Sovereign Risk"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, December 16, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Satyajit Chatterjee
Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia
Title: "Continuous Markov Perfect Equilibrium in Quasi-geometric Discounting Model with Lotteries"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, December 17, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Laura Sunder-Plassmann
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota
Title: "Inflation, Default and the Denomination of Sovereign Debt"

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, December 18, 2013 - 12:00 NOON

Andrea Waddle
Federal Reserve Bank of Mpls & University of Minnesota
Title: "Trade, Technology, and the Skill Premium: The Case of Mexico"

 

 
Latest Articles