Contact: Alyssa Augustine
Media Representative
(612) 204-5175

News Releases

Adams, Rutherford, and Wolstein appointed to Minneapolis Fed’s Helena Branch board

Minneapolis, December 19, 2018 Jason Adams, Mary Rutherford, and Bobbi Wolstein have been appointed to the board of directors for the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis’ Helena Branch for terms beginning Jan. 1, 2019. Current board member Norma Nickerson has been appointed by the Federal Reserve Board of Governors to a seat that will allow her to serve as the Branch board chair.


Jason Adams

Jason Adams, executive director of the Salish and Kootenai Housing Authority in Pablo, Mont., was appointed by the Minneapolis Fed’s board of directors and will serve a three-year term. Adams is an enrolled member of the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Indian Reservation, serves as chair of the United Native American Housing Association, and served as the chair of the Tribal Leaders Working Group for the National Native Homeownership Coalition organized by the Minneapolis Fed’s Center for Indian Country Development.

Adams is succeeding Helena Branch board member Barbara Stiffarm, executive director of Opportunity Link, Inc., Havre, Mont. Stiffarm’s term will end Dec. 31, 2018.

Mary Rutherford

Mary Rutherford

Mary Rutherford, president and CEO of the Montana Community Foundation, Helena, Mont., was appointed by the Minneapolis board of directors and will serve a three-year term. Rutherford joined the Montana Community Foundation in 2014 and is currently a member of the Philanthropy Northwest board of directors.

Rutherford is filling a Bank-appointed position on the Helena Branch board of directors previously held by Norma Nickerson, who moves to a Board of Governors appointed seat, allowing her to serve as chair of the Helena board.

Bobbi Wolstein

Bobbi Wolstein

Bobbi Wolstein, chief financial officer of LHC, Inc., Kalispell, Mont., was appointed by the Board of Governors and will serve a three-year term. She will also serve as deputy chair of the Helena Branch board. Wolstein is the co-owner and manager of Wolstein Custom Builders and has affiliations with five other Montana-based companies.

Wolstein is filling the seat previously held by Marsha Goetting, professor and Extension Family Economics specialist, Montana State University, Bozeman, Mont. Goetting’s term will end Dec. 31, 2018.

About the Helena Branch Board of Directors

Helena Branch directors contribute regional perspectives on economic conditions as part of the Federal Reserve’s monitoring of the national economy and the formulation of monetary policy.

The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis is one of 12 regional Reserve Banks that, with the Board of Governors in Washington, D.C., make up the Federal Reserve System, the nation’s central bank. The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis is responsible for the Ninth Federal Reserve District, which includes Montana, North and South Dakota, Minnesota, northwestern Wisconsin and the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis participates in setting national monetary policy, supervises numerous banking organizations, and provides a variety of payments services to financial institutions and the U.S. government.