Contact: Alyssa Augustine
Media Representative
(612) 204-5175

News Releases

Armstrong and Neset Re-elected to Minneapolis Fed Board of Directors

Minneapolis, November 8, 2017 The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis announces the re-election of Thomas W. Armstrong and Kathleen Neset to its board of directors, effective January 1, 2018.

Thomas W. Armstrong, president of the First National Bank of Park Falls in Park Falls, Wis., was re-elected by the member banks in Group 3 as a Class A director. Armstrong’s term will run until December 31, 2020.

The Class A group of directors is elected to the board of directors by member banks to represent member banks and includes Catherine T. Kelly, regional president of PNC Bank Minneapolis-St. Paul, in Minneapolis , and Randy L. Newman, chairman and chief executive officer of Alerus Financial N.A. and Alerus Financial Corp., Grand Forks, N.D.

Kathleen Neset, president of Neset Consulting Service in Tioga, N.D., was re-elected by member banks in Group 2 as a Class B director. Neset’s term will run until December 31, 2020.

The Class B group of directors is elected by member banks to represent the public and includes Christine Hamilton, managing partner of Christiansen Land and Cattle Ltd., Kimball, S.D., and Srilata Zaheer, dean and Elmer L. Andersen Chair in Global Corporate Social Responsibility of the Carlson School of Management at the University of Minnesota.

About the Board of Directors

Minneapolis Fed directors are selected to represent a cross section of the Ninth District economy, including consumers, industry, agriculture, the service sector, labor and commercial banks of various sizes. Pursuant to the Federal Reserve Act, the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis board has nine members, with three Class A directors representing the member banks and three each of Class B and C directors, selected to represent the public with “due but not exclusive consideration to the interests of agriculture, commerce, industry, services, labor, and consumers.” The Class A and B directors are elected by member banks, and the Class C directors are appointed by the Board of Governors, which also designates the board’s chair and deputy chair from among its three appointees.

The responsibilities of directors are broad, ranging from overseeing the general operations of the Minneapolis Fed to reporting on district economic conditions. This information helps prepare the Minneapolis Fed president for participation in Federal Open Market Committee meetings, where decisions are made about monetary policy.

The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis is one of 12 regional Reserve Banks that, with the Board of Governors in Washington, D.C., make up the Federal Reserve System, the nation’s central bank. The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis is responsible for the Ninth Federal Reserve District, which includes Montana, North and South Dakota, Minnesota, northwestern Wisconsin and the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis participates in setting national monetary policy, supervises numerous banking organizations, and provides a variety of payments services to financial institutions and the U.S. government.