Contact: Alyssa Augustine
Media Representative
(612) 204-5175

News Releases

Minneapolis Fed announces 2019-2020 class of Visiting Scholars

Minneapolis, April 25, 2019 The Minneapolis Fed announced a new cohort of 22 Visiting Scholars selected to conduct research while in residence at the Opportunity and Inclusive Growth Institute.

“Examining economic barriers from various angles helps us understand how to improve the lives of all Americans,” said Minneapolis Fed President Neel Kashkari. “The incoming class of scholars has a wide range of expertise. Their unique perspectives are key to understanding and overcoming the obstacles to inclusive growth.”

This diverse class of respected academics was selected because their research contributes to measuring how to increase economic opportunity for all Americans. Collectively, the scholars use a variety of empirical methods and theoretical perspectives to answer research questions.

“The Institute Scholars program helps bring the expertise of an even broader set of researchers into the Federal Reserve community,” said Opportunity and Inclusive Growth Institute Director Abigail Wozniak. “We learn from them, and they gain a stronger understanding of how their work can connect with the Fed’s research needs.”

Shortly after the Institute’s 2017 launch, 17 scholars were chosen for the inaugural class. The Institute hosted 21 scholars for the 2018-2019 academic year. The following Visiting Scholars were selected for 2019–2020:

  • Lorenzo Caliendo, Professor of Economics, Yale University
  • Javier Cravino, Assistant Professor of Economics, University of Michigan
  • Morris A. Davis, Professor of Finance and Paul V. Profeta Chair of Real Estate, Rutgers University
  • Ellora Derenoncourt, Ph.D. Candidate in Economics, Harvard University
  • Jonathan Dingel, Associate Professor of Economics, University of Chicago Booth School of Business
  • Jennifer Doleac, Associate Professor of Economics, Director, Justice Tech Lab, Texas A&M University
  • Fabian Eckert, Ph.D. Candidate in Economics, Yale University
  • Misty Heggeness, Senior Advisor/Research Economist, U.S. Census Bureau
  • Mark Huggett, Professor of Economics, Georgetown University
  • Loukas Karabarbounis, Associate Professor of Economics, University of Minnesota
  • Jeremy Lise, Associate Professor of Economics, University of Minnesota
  • Elena Manresa, Assistant Professor, New York University
  • Amanda Michaud, Associate Professor, University of Western Ontario
  • Abdoulaye Ndiaye, Assistant Professor of Economics, NYU Stern School of Business
  • Derek A. Neal, William C. Norby Professor in Economics, University of Chicago
  • Michael Peters, Assistant Professor of Economics, Yale University
  • Luigi Pistaferri, Professor of Economics, Stanford University
  • Tommaso Porzio, Assistant Professor of Economics, Columbia Business School
  • Esteban Rossi-Hansberg, Theodore A. Wells ’29 Professor of Economics and International Affairs, Princeton University
  • Chris Stoddard, Professor, Montana State University
  • David Wiczer, Assistant Professor of Economics, Stony Brook University
  • Kevin R. Williams, Associate Professor of Economics, Yale School of Management

The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis is one of 12 regional Reserve Banks that, with the Board of Governors in Washington, D.C., make up the Federal Reserve System, the nation’s central bank. The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis is responsible for the Ninth Federal Reserve District, which includes Montana, North and South Dakota, Minnesota, northwestern Wisconsin and the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis participates in setting national monetary policy, supervises numerous banking organizations, and provides a variety of payments services to financial institutions and the U.S. government.