2018 Seminars

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, January 11, 2018

Thomas Phelan | University of Minnesota

On the Efficient Level of Inequality in Business Income

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Mark Colas | University of Oregon

Dynamic Responses to Immigration

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Simeon Alder | University of Wisconsin - Madison

The Macroeconomics of Sorting and Turnover in a Dynamic Assignment Model

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Jose Asturias | Georgetown University Qatar

Competition and the Welfare Gains from Transportation Infrastructure: Evidence from the Golden Quadrilateral of India

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, January 25, 2018

Sergio Salgado Ibanez | University of Minnesota

Technical Change and Entrepreneurship

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, February 12, 2018

Christian Moser | Columbia Business School

Earnings Inequality and the Minimum Wage

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Kevin Lang | Boston University

The Determinants of Teachers' Occupational Choice

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Francesco Bianchi | Duke University

Monetary Policy and Asset Valuation

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, February 27, 2018

Thomas Winberry | University of Chicago, Booth School of Business

Financial Heterogeneity and the Investment Channel of Monetary Policy

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Alessandro Dovis | University of Pennsylvania

Fiscal Rules, Bailouts, and Reputation in Federal Governments

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, March 9, 2018

Chad Syverson | University of Chicago Booth School of Business

Misallocation Measures: The Distortion That Ate the Residual

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Christopher Huckfeldt | Cornell University

Unemployment Fluctuations, Match Quality, and the Wage Cyclicality of New Hires

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Todd Schoellman | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

The Changing Roles of Family Income and Academic Ability for US College Attendance

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, March 23, 2018

Pedro Teles | Catolica-Lisbon SBE

Should Robots be Taxed?

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, March 26, 2018

Basile Grassi | Universita Boconni

IO in I-O: Size, Industrial Organization and the Input-Output Network Make a Firm Structurally Important

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

Christopher Tonetti | Stanford University

Nonrivalry and the Economics of Data

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Casey Mulligan | University of Chicago

Public Policies and the Reward to Work: Measurement and Consequences

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, April 2, 2018

Ali Shourideh | Carnegie Mellon Tepper School of Business

Inequality, Redistribution and Optimal Trade Policy: A Public Finance Approach

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, April 6, 2018

Marina Halac | Columbia University

Commitment vs. Flexibility with Costly Verification

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

Pontus Rendhal | University of Cambridge

Labor Income Risk, Asset Prices, and Unemployment Cyclicality

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Cecilia Parlatore | NYU, Stern School of Business

Volatility and Informativeness

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, April 13, 2018

Erik Loualiche | University of Minnesota, Carlson School of Management

Import Competition and Household Debt

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, April 16, 2018

Robert Ulbricht | Toulouse School of Economics

Information-driven Business Cycles: A Primal Approach

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 17, 2018

Thibaut Lamadon | University of Chicago

Imperfect Competition and Rent Sharing in the U.S. Labor Market

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

John Rogers | Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

Monetary Policy Uncertainty

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, April 20, 2018

Fernando Alvarez | University of Chicago

The Analytic Theory of a Monetary Shock

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, April 23, 2018

David Baqaee | London School of Economics

Productivity and Misallocation in General Equilibrium

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 24, 2018

Philipp Kircher | University of Edinburgh

How Wage Announcements Affect Job Search Behavior

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Emmanuel Farhi | Harvard University

The Macroeconomic Impact of Microeconomic Shocks: Beyond Hulten’s Theorem

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, April 26, 2018

Ioana Marinescu | University of Pennsylvania School of Social Policy & Practice

The Labor Market Impacts of Universal and Permanent Cash Transfers: Evidence from the Alaska Permanent Fund

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, April 30, 2018

Sebastian Di Tella | Stanford University

A Neoclassical Theory of Liquidity Traps

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, May 1, 2018

Sebastian Findeisen | University of Mannheim

Optimal Need-Based Financial Aid

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, May 2, 2018

Kyle Herkenhoff | University of Minnesota & Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

Title TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Daniele Siena | Banque de France

Real Interest Rates and Productivity in Small Open Economies

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, May 21, 2018

Cecile Gaubert | University of California Berkeley

Optimal Spatial Policies, Geography and Sorting

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, May 25, 2018

Moritz Kuhn | Universitat Bonn

Income and Wealth Inequality in America, 1949-2016

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, June 5, 2018

Carlos Garriga | Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

Title TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, June 15, 2018

Douglas Almond | Columbia University

Gender and Perinatal Health Among 1 Million American Born Chinese

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, September 17, 2018

Benjamin Hebert | Stanford Graduate School of Business

Title TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

Adrien Auclert | Stanford University

Title TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, September 25, 2018

Francois Gourio | Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago

Title TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

Victoria Vanasco | Stanford Graduate School of Business

Title TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, October 3, 2018

Vladimir Asriyan | Universitat Pompeu Fabra

Collateral Booms and Information Depletion