2019 Seminars

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, January 8, 2019

Sergio Ocampo Diaz | University of Minnesota / Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

A Task-Based Theory of Occupations

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, February 4, 2019

Johannes Wieland | University of California, San Diego

The Interest Rate Elasticity of Durable Demand: Measurement and Implications

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, February 5, 2019

Juan Sanchez | Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

Sovereign Debt Restructurings

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, February 13, 2019

Pablo Ottonello | New York University

Global Banks and Systemic Debt Crises

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

Erik Loualiche | Carlson School of Management

Efficient Bubbles?

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, February 21, 2019

Juan Carlos Hatchondo | Indiana University

Constrained Efficient Borrowing with Sovereign Default Risk

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, February 22, 2019

Moritz Kuhn | University of Bonn

Which Ladder to Climb? Evidence on Wages of Workers, Jobs, and Plants

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, February 27, 2019

Kyle Herkenhoff | University of Minnesota & Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

Labor Market Power

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, February 28, 2019

Costas Arkolakis | Yale University

European Immigrants and the United States’ Rise to the Technological Frontier in the 19th Century

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, March 4, 2019

Katarina Borovickova | Opportunity and Inclusive Growth Institute and New York University

Risk Premia and Unemployment Fluctuations

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, March 11, 2019

Niklas Engbom | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

Firm and Worker Dynamics in an Aging Labor Market

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, March 14, 2019

Jaroslav Borovicka | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and New York University

Survey Data and Subjective Beliefs in Business Cycle Models

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, March 25, 2019

David Argente | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis & Penn State University

Consumer Surplus of Alternative Payment Methods: Paying Uber with Cash

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 2, 2019

Dmitry Mukhin | Yale University

Mussa Puzzle Redux

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, April 3, 2019

Gabriel Ulyssea | University of Oxford

Formal and Informal Firm Dynamics

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, April 8, 2019

Ariel Zetlin-Jones | Tepper School of Business Carnegie Mellon University

The Maturity Structure of Inside Money

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, April 11, 2019

Kjetil Storesletten | University of Oslo

Business Cycles during Structural Change: Arthur Lewis' Theory from a Neoclassical Perspective
10:30 AM (Note time change)

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, April 12, 2019

Martin Beraja | MIT

Skill-biased Technological Transitions

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, April 15, 2019

Felix Tintelnot | University of Chicago

The Production Relocation and Price Effects of U.S. Trade Policy: The Case of Washing Machines

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 16, 2019

Limor Golan | Washington University in St. Louis

What Explains the Racial Gaps in Task Assignment and Pay Over the Life-Cycle?

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Sebastian Dyrda | University of Toronto

Taxes, Private Equity, and Evolution of Income Inequality in the US

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, April 19, 2019

Kurt Mitman | Institute for International Economic Studies

Consumer Bankruptcy as Aggregate Demand Management

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, April 29, 2019

Todd Keister | Rutgers University

Bail-ins, Bailouts and Optimal Bank Regulation

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 30, 2019

Cristina Arellano | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

Monetary Policy and Sovereign Risk in Emerging Markets

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, May 1, 2019

Toby Broer | IIES

Heterogeneous Information Choice in General Equilibrium

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, May 9, 2019

Hector Chade | Arizona State University

Screening in Vertical Oligopolies

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, May 10, 2019

Ilse Lindenlaub | Yale University

The Worker-Job Surplus

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, May 13, 2019

Rohan Kekre | University of Chicago, Booth School of Business

Redistribution, Risk Premia, and the Macroeconomy

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, May 15, 2019

Marios Karabarbounis | Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond

Regional Consumption Responses and the Aggregate Fiscal Multiplier

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, May 20, 2019

Nicola Gennaioli | Universita Bocconi

Real Credit Cycles

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Domenico Ferraro | Arizona State University

Search Frictions, Labor Supply and the Asymmetric Business Cycle

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, May 22, 2019

Amanda Agan | Rutgers University

Salary Disclosure and Hiring: Field Experimental Evidence from a Two-Sided Audit Study

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, May 23, 2019

Ezra Oberfield | Princeton University

Misallocation in the Market for Inputs: Enforcement and the Organization of Production

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, May 29, 2019

Sophie Osotimehin | University of Virginia

Misallocation and Intersectoral Linkages

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, June 4, 2019

Giulia Brancaccio | Cornell University

Learning by Trading: the Case of the US Market for Municipal Bonds

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, June 5, 2019

Loukas Karabarbounis | University of Minnesota and FRB of Minneapolis

The Macroeconomics of the Greek Depression

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, June 12, 2019

Gajendran Raveendranathan | McMaster University

Who Bears the Welfare Costs of Monopoly? The Case of the Credit Card Industry

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, June 17, 2019

Francesco Lippi | EIEF

Unequal Growth

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, June 20, 2019

Fang Yang | Louisiana State University

Demographic Aging, Industrial Policy, and Chinese Economic Growth

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, July 23, 2019

Motohiro Yogo | Princeton University

Exchange Rates and Asset Prices in a Global Demand System

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, July 24, 2019

Pedro Teles | Católica-Lisbon SBE

Title TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, July 29, 2019

Carlos Esquivel | University of Minnesota

Title TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, July 30, 2019

Esteban Rossi-Hansberg | Princeton University

Cognitive Hubs and Spatial Redistribution

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, September 12, 2019

David Lagakos | University of California San Diego

The Welfare Effects of Subsidizing Rural-Urban Migration

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, September 16, 2019

Isaac Baley | UPF/CREI

Title TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

Christian Wolf | Princeton University

The Missing Intercept: A Sufficient Statistics Approach to General Equilibrium Effects

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, September 20, 2019

Fabrizio Zilibotti | Yale University

Title TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, September 27, 2019

Gonzalo Paz-Pardo | University College London

Title TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 1, 2019

Natalia Ramondo | University of California San Diego

Title TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, October 7, 2019

Rory McGee | University College London

Title TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 8, 2019

Andrea Lanteri | Duke University

Title TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 22, 2019

Aysegul Sahin | Federal Reserve Bank of New York

Title TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, October 25, 2019

Ben Moll | Princeton University

Uneven Growth: Automation’s Impact on Income and Wealth Inequality

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Corina Boar | New York University

Title TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, December 2, 2019

Matthias Doepke | Northwestern University

Title TBA