Skip to main content

New members named to Minneapolis Fed advisory council

Minneapolis, March 18, 2020

New members named to Minneapolis Fed advisory council

Five new community bank experts have been appointed to a Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis advisory council. The Community Depository Institution Advisory Council (CDIAC) provides information, advice, and recommendations to Minneapolis Fed President Neel Kashkari from the perspective of thrifts, credit unions, and banks in the Ninth District with total assets of less than $10 billion.

“I am excited to welcome new members and am looking forward to hearing their unique perspectives,” Kashkari said. “With this year’s additions, women now make up a majority of the council, and the diversity of voices will provide important context about the economy and the state of banking in the Ninth District.”

Members are appointed by and advise the Minneapolis Fed president.

2020 appointees:

  • Jamie Buhr
    President, Valley Bank of Ronan, Ronan, Mont.
  • Melodie Carlson
    COO, Sunrise Banks, St. Paul, Minn.
  • David Hanson
    President and CEO, American State Bank & Trust Co., Williston, N.D.
  • Emily Hofer
    CFO/Director, Merchants State Bank, Freeman, S.D.
  • Sharon Lake
    President, Grand Timber Bank, McGregor, Minn.

Existing members:

  • Shari Laven (Chair)
    CEO, Viking Bank N.A., Alexandria, Minn.
  • Jon Eberle
    CFO and EVP, Home Federal Savings Bank, Rochester, Minn.
  • Kathleen Harrington
    President, Heartland Credit Union, Inver Grove Heights, Minn.
  • Brenda Lippens
    President and CEO, Delta County Credit Union, Escanaba, Mich.
  • Val Mindak
    President and CEO, Park City Credit Union, Merrill, Wis.
  • Greg Raymo
    President, First State Bank Southwest, Worthington, Minn.
  • David Waligoske
    President and CEO, Fishback Financial Corp., Brookings, S.D.

The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis is one of 12 regional Reserve Banks that, with the Board of Governors in Washington, D.C., make up the Federal Reserve System, the nation’s central bank. The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis is responsible for the Ninth Federal Reserve District, which includes Montana, North and South Dakota, Minnesota, northwestern Wisconsin, and the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis participates in setting national monetary policy, supervises numerous banking organizations, and provides a variety of payments services to financial institutions and the U.S. government.