Skip to main content

New members named to Institute advisory boards

Minneapolis, May 6, 2020

New members named to Institute advisory boards

The Minneapolis Fed’s Opportunity & Inclusive Growth Institute named six new members to its Community Advisory Board and six new members to its academic Advisory Board. Members of these boards serve as important resources in crafting the Institute’s research agenda.

“The academic Advisory Board connects us to researchers who are developing sound evidence to inform policy, and the Community Advisory Board keeps us connected to the community’s policy needs and ensures that our communications are clear and useful,” said Institute Director Abigail Wozniak. “The new members on both boards represent an impressive second generation of leaders, and I am grateful for their commitment to the Opportunity & Inclusive Growth Institute.”

Community Advisory Board

The Community Advisory Board is made up of 16 nonprofit, philanthropic, civic, and government leaders. This board serves as a critical resource for connecting the work of the Institute to the Twin Cities and Ninth District communities and helps identify challenges to opportunity and economic growth.

New members:

  • Chanda Smith Baker, Senior Vice President, Minneapolis Foundation
  • Steve Grove, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development
  • Veena A. Iyer, Executive Director, Immigrant Law Center of Minnesota
  • Jane Leonard, President, Growth & Justice
  • Devinder Malhotra, Chancellor, Minnesota State College and University System
  • Tim Marx, President and CEO, Catholic Charities

Institute Advisory Board

The Advisory Board is a group of 20 distinguished academics who reflect the Institute’s commitment to connecting with leading-edge research on economic opportunity and inclusion across disciplines.

New members:

  • Sandra E. Black, Professor of Economics and International and Public Affairs, Columbia University
  • Sandra Newman, Professor of Policy Studies, Johns Hopkins University
  • John Pfaff, Professor of Law, Fordham University
  • Esteban Rossi-Hansberg, Theodore A. Wells ’29 Professor of Economics and International Affairs, Princeton University
  • Stacey Tevlin, Director, Research and Statistics, Federal Reserve Board of Governors
  • Luigi Zingales, Robert C. McCormack Distinguished Service Professor of Entrepreneurship and Finance, and Charles M. Harper Faculty Fellow, University of Chicago Booth School of Business

The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis is one of 12 regional Reserve Banks that, with the Board of Governors in Washington, D.C., make up the Federal Reserve System, the nation’s central bank. The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis is responsible for the Ninth Federal Reserve District, which includes Montana, North and South Dakota, Minnesota, northwestern Wisconsin, and the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis participates in setting national monetary policy, supervises numerous banking organizations, and provides a variety of payments services to financial institutions and the U.S. government.