Skip to main content

The Ninth District

The Minneapolis Fed, with our one Branch in Helena, Montana, serves the six states of the Ninth Federal Reserve District: Minnesota, Montana, North and South Dakota, 26 counties in northwestern Wisconsin, and the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.*

From east to west, the Ninth District stretches 1,800 miles, covering 409,291 square miles and including about 9 million people. Although 12 percent of the nation’s land is in the Ninth District, only 3 percent of the nation’s population resides here.

Ninth District economy

The Ninth Federal Reserve District has a diverse economy, from mining to tourism to agriculture and technology.

  • In the Rocky Mountains, tourism, timber, and metal mining are important industries.
  • In the center of the district, wheat farming, ranching, and energy mining dominate. Approximately 31 percent of the nation’s wheat is produced here.
  • In addition to corn and soybean farming, light manufacturing is a principal activity. Approximately 20 percent of the nation’s corn is produced here.
  • Minneapolis/St. Paul, where the Minneapolis Fed is headquartered, is the nation’s 16th largest metropolitan area. It is an important education and high-technology manufacturing center as well as the district’s largest trade and service center.
  • In the Upper Great Lakes, tourism, timber, dairy farming, and metal mining are dominant industries. This region produces over 90 percent of the nation's iron ore.

Our Traveling the Ninth virtual tour series shares more about the Ninth Federal Reserve District.

*The Ninth Federal Reserve District includes the states of Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, and northwestern Wisconsin.

Michigan counties in the Ninth Federal Reserve District are Alger, Baraga, Chippewa, Delta, Dickinson, Gogebic, Houghton, Iron, Keweenaw, Luce, Mackinac, Marquette, Menominee, Ontonagon, and Schoolcraft.

The Wisconsin counties in the Ninth District are Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Buffalo, Burnett, Chippewa, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Florence, Forest, Iron, La Crosse, Lincoln, Oneida, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, St. Croix, Taylor, Trempealeau, Vilas, and Washburn.