Skip to main content

New members named to Center for Indian Country Development Leadership Council

Minneapolis, March 25, 2024

New members named to Center for Indian Country Development Leadership Council

The Center for Indian Country Development (CICD) based at the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis has welcomed five new members to its Leadership Council:

  • Stephanie Russo Carroll, Associate Professor, University of Arizona
  • Amber Schulz-Oliver, Executive Director, Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians
  • Tralynna Sherrill Scott, Chief Economist, Cherokee Nation Businesses
  • Reggie Wassana, Governor, Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes
  • Larry Wright Jr., Executive Director, National Congress of American Indians

CICD is a research and policy institute focused on economic development in Indian Country. We work to advance the economic self-determination and prosperity of Native nations and Indigenous communities through actionable data and research that make substantial contributions to public policy. CICD is undertaking a major initiative to build economic datasets about Indian Country that can empower Native individuals and communities to shape their economic future by identifying needed investments and opportunities.

“As CICD identifies economic data priorities that support communities across Indian Country in charting their economic futures, Leadership Council members bring important perspectives and experiences to inform this work,” said Neel Kashkari, president of the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis.

“We’re grateful to our new and existing members for their dedicated service on behalf of Indian Country economic prosperity," said CICD Director Casey Lozar (Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes).

Newly appointed Leadership Council members join an advisory group that reflects key representatives from national and regional Native organizations, tribal leadership, and tribal economic development and finance practitioners. Leadership Council members provide input into CICD’s applied research, data tools, and policy analysis by helping to uncover gaps in the knowledge base and identifying systemic impediments to economic opportunity and inclusive growth in Native communities. Members are appointed by Kashkari.

The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis is one of 12 regional Reserve Banks that, with the Board of Governors in Washington, D.C., make up the Federal Reserve System, the nation’s central bank. The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis is responsible for the Ninth Federal Reserve District, which includes Montana, North and South Dakota, Minnesota, northwestern Wisconsin, and the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis participates in setting national monetary policy, supervises numerous banking organizations, and provides a variety of payments services to financial institutions and the U.S. government.